In Response to an email from Al Franken

To Al Franken

Tis the week before Christmas
And money is tight
I live on disability
It’s cold tonight

My niece and great-nephew
Will be here next week
He’s a growing child
More mouths to feed

Politicians in DC
Make more money than most
Get better benefits
The poor are their host

So why are tax dollars
Spent to spy on the free
The NSA and CIA
Have more money than me

Millions and billions I’ll never see
Buy weapons and drones
To kill innocent people
And children are left in poverty

How much does it cost
To X-Ray everyone
Who flies on a plane
Nude files for what job?

Buildings are built
To house the unconstitutional
While there’s no room in the shelters
And Snowden’s exiled

Eric had more courage
Than any of you
Like Deep Throat before him
Did what he had to do

Deep Throat wasn’t prosecuted
Too high up in the FBI
Snowden was a mere contractor
Who wouldn’t tell a lie

Like many around me
I feel betrayed
Used and abused
By false promises made

And you with the salary
Pension and perks
Want all I have
Even though I can’t work

Fix all these problems
You rich folk create
Expose the wrongdoings
And block the hate

But give any more
To half the source of it all?
I think not
Merry Christmas to all

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

